Jump to content

Proxmox VE OSX Guide discussion


fabiosun

Recommended Posts

  • Supervisor
6 minutes ago, meina222 said:

 

 

apt install build-essential asciidoc-base bison flex libdw-dev libelf-dev libiberty-dev libnuma-dev libslang2-dev libssl-dev lz4 xmlto zlib1g-dev dh-make dh-python lintian sphinx-common dwarves dpkg-dev

 

should give you:

0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded

 

which means all pre-requisites are installed.

 

 

 

 

executed this installed many stuff

and now I have:

root@proxmox:~# dpkg-architecture
DEB_BUILD_ARCH=amd64
DEB_BUILD_ARCH_ABI=base
DEB_BUILD_ARCH_BITS=64
DEB_BUILD_ARCH_CPU=amd64
DEB_BUILD_ARCH_ENDIAN=little
DEB_BUILD_ARCH_LIBC=gnu
DEB_BUILD_ARCH_OS=linux
DEB_BUILD_GNU_CPU=x86_64
DEB_BUILD_GNU_SYSTEM=linux-gnu
DEB_BUILD_GNU_TYPE=x86_64-linux-gnu
DEB_BUILD_MULTIARCH=x86_64-linux-gnu
DEB_HOST_ARCH=amd64
DEB_HOST_ARCH_ABI=base
DEB_HOST_ARCH_BITS=64
DEB_HOST_ARCH_CPU=amd64
DEB_HOST_ARCH_ENDIAN=little
DEB_HOST_ARCH_LIBC=gnu
DEB_HOST_ARCH_OS=linux
DEB_HOST_GNU_CPU=x86_64
DEB_HOST_GNU_SYSTEM=linux-gnu
DEB_HOST_GNU_TYPE=x86_64-linux-gnu
DEB_HOST_MULTIARCH=x86_64-linux-gnu
DEB_TARGET_ARCH=amd64
DEB_TARGET_ARCH_ABI=base
DEB_TARGET_ARCH_BITS=64
DEB_TARGET_ARCH_CPU=amd64
DEB_TARGET_ARCH_ENDIAN=little
DEB_TARGET_ARCH_LIBC=gnu
DEB_TARGET_ARCH_OS=linux
DEB_TARGET_GNU_CPU=x86_64
DEB_TARGET_GNU_SYSTEM=linux-gnu
DEB_TARGET_GNU_TYPE=x86_64-linux-gnu
DEB_TARGET_MULTIARCH=x86_64-linux-gnu
root@proxmox:~# 

 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Supervisor
C [M]  drivers/usb/usbip/stub_rx.o
  CC [M]  net/sunrpc/auth_gss/gss_krb5_crypto.o
  AR      drivers/net/wireless/atmel/built-in.a
  CC [M]  drivers/net/wireless/atmel/atmel.o
  CC [M]  drivers/usb/serial/garmin_gps.o
  CC [M]  drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath6kl/bmi.o
  CC [M]  drivers/net/wireless/atmel/atmel_pci.o
  CC [M]  drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath9k/xmit.o
  CC [M]  drivers/scsi/aic7xxx/aic7xxx_93cx6.o
  CC [M]  drivers/net/wireless/atmel/atmel_cs.o
  CC [M]  drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nvkm/subdev/clk/pllnv04.o
  CC [M]  drivers/rtc/rtc-max8925.o
  CC [M]  drivers/scsi/aic94xx/aic94xx_init.o
  CC [M]  drivers/rtc/rtc-max8997.o
  CC [M]  drivers/watchdog/retu_wdt.o
  CC [M]  drivers/input/touchscreen/resistive-adc-touch.o
  CC [M]  drivers/net/wireless/ath/carl9170/phy.o
  CC [M]  drivers/scsi/aic7xxx/aic7770.o
  LD [M]  dri

is doing something

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, iGPU said:

 

 

 

You might try adding this for DeviceProperties (changing the address based on your Hackintool results for the Broadcom card in your mobo:

  Reveal hidden contents


            <key>PciRoot(0x1)/Pci(0x10,0x1)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
			<dict>
				<key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
				<string>Built in</string>
				<key>built-in</key>
				<data>
				AA==
				</data>
				<key>compatible</key>
				<string>pci14e4,43ba</string>
				<key>device-id</key>
				<data>
				ukMAAA==
				</data>
				<key>device_type</key>
				<string>Network Controller</string>
				<key>model</key>
				<string>BCM4352 802.11ac Network Adapter</string>
				<key>name</key>
				<string>Broadcom BCM4352 BT / Wifi Adapter</string>
			</dict>

 

 

 

 

 

I'm trying to match device-id (ukMAAA== > BA430000 )  from your config, where in Hackintool would you find that?

 

For some reason my CPU is displayed as an i5 3.7GHz - does this affect how programs read from the host? (which may be part of the problem below)

 

I currently don't have MacProMemoryReporterDisabler enabled yet, which I will do with the same fix as the BT/WiFi, but wanted to share that a program that polled sysinfo prior to launch crashed due to RAM configuration (48/64 GB Passthrough). I think this is a really important note. 

 

3 hours ago, iGPU said:

And set the memory to "memory: 32768" (that will show up as 32GB on the Mac side; the memory intervals I use are 32768 / 65536 / 131072).

 

Here was the System Report for it

image.png.a70748a1dfb794c11f70e5f0553d7000.png

 

image.png.625705707ef4292f2a7b1126ab978f5e.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nice you just build the kernel :).

 

You can actually build it now every time Linus Torvalds updates it. I will post instructions on that too  - it's a simple git command. Let me fix the missing dpkg-dev add-in in step 1. Thanks for the help.

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Actually - @iGPU, I went to grab the latest AirportBrcmFixup kext and saw this note

 

I don't quite follow 100% - I opened the kext and did find it in Plugins, but would you set the kext path to those two and then add a block to the kernel option?

 

image.png.523fa112caf9ad0a36d2cfa2186b5dc9.png

7 minutes ago, meina222 said:

Nice you just build the kernel :).

 

You can actually build it now every time Linus Torvalds updates it. I will post instructions on that too  - it's a simple git command. Let me fix the missing dpkg-dev add-in in step 1. Thanks for the help.

 

This might be easier if done through a docker container, I'll write a quick Dockerfile to compile it so that it doesn't interfere with the host dependencies.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
17 minutes ago, tsongz said:

 

I'm trying to match device-id (ukMAAA== > BA430000 )  from your config, where in Hackintool would you find that?

 

For some reason my CPU is displayed as an i5 3.7GHz - does this affect how programs read from the host? (which may be part of the problem below)

 

I currently don't have MacProMemoryReporterDisabler enabled yet, which I will do with the same fix as the BT/WiFi, but wanted to share that a program that polled sysinfo prior to launch crashed due to RAM configuration (48/64 GB Passthrough). I think this is a really important note. 

 

 

 

Don't worry about " my CPU is displayed as an i5 3.7GHz -" it's only cosmetic.

 

As for Hackintool, I was referring to the address/path: "PciRoot(0x1)/Pci(0x10,0x1)/Pci(0x0,0x0)" (not  the id "BA430000"). You can find in Hackintool. Export, then copy from txt file and paste in place of what I'd uploaded earlier.

 

Hackintool-DP.jpg.e4fd614027eb7c4595d8237ffd66e944.jpg

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
9 minutes ago, tsongz said:

Actually - @iGPU, I went to grab the latest AirportBrcmFixup kext and saw this note

 

I don't quite follow 100% - I opened the kext and did find it in Plugins, but would you set the kext path to those two and then add a block to the kernel option?

 

image.png.523fa112caf9ad0a36d2cfa2186b5dc9.png

 

This might be easier if done through a docker container, I'll write a quick Dockerfile to compile it so that it doesn't interfere with the host dependencies.

 

Don't worry about that warning. I started with that but not necessary. As for kext, you don't need to open, I was simply explaining where it is located. But, do copy EXACTLY what I showed in the image. I'll re-upload below, but as text portion and you can copy and paste into OC config file.

 

Spoiler

 


			<dict>
				<key>BundlePath</key>
				<string>AirportBrcmFixup.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AirPortBrcmNIC_Injector.kext</string>
				<key>Enabled</key>
				<true/>
				<key>MaxKernel</key>
				<string></string>
				<key>MinKernel</key>
				<string></string>
				<key>PlistPath</key>
				<string>Contents/Info.plist</string>
			</dict>
			<dict>
				<key>BundlePath</key>
				<string>AirportBrcmFixup.kext</string>
				<key>Enabled</key>
				<true/>
				<key>ExecutablePath</key>
				<string>Contents/MacOS/AirportBrcmFixup</string>
				<key>MaxKernel</key>
				<string></string>
				<key>MinKernel</key>
				<string></string>
				<key>PlistPath</key>
				<string>Contents/Info.plist</string>
			</dict>
			<dict>
				<key>BundlePath</key>
				<string>BrcmBluetoothInjector.kext</string>
				<key>Enabled</key>
				<true/>
				<key>MaxKernel</key>
				<string></string>
				<key>MinKernel</key>
				<string></string>
				<key>PlistPath</key>
				<string>Contents/Info.plist</string>
			</dict>
			<dict>
				<key>BundlePath</key>
				<string>BrcmFirmwareData.kext</string>
				<key>Enabled</key>
				<true/>
				<key>ExecutablePath</key>
				<string>Contents/MacOS/BrcmFirmwareData</string>
				<key>MaxKernel</key>
				<string></string>
				<key>MinKernel</key>
				<string></string>
				<key>PlistPath</key>
				<string>Contents/Info.plist</string>
			</dict>
			<dict>
				<key>BundlePath</key>
				<string>BrcmPatchRAM3.kext</string>
				<key>Enabled</key>
				<true/>
				<key>ExecutablePath</key>
				<string>Contents/MacOS/BrcmPatchRAM3</string>
				<key>MaxKernel</key>
				<string></string>
				<key>MinKernel</key>
				<string></string>
				<key>PlistPath</key>
				<string>Contents/Info.plist</string>
			</dict>

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
24 minutes ago, meina222 said:

I want to change my SMBIOS from iMacPro1,1 on my Catalina to MacPro7,1. Does anyone know if iMessage will stop working if I change my serials and smbios? Thanks.

 

It's recommended to sign out of iCloud before changing SMBIOS. Then sign back in after the change. You'd want to change serials as it would be a 'different' computer.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

@tsongz 

 

I spent an entire day last night and this AM on debugging my GPU performance under Catalina. Just like you, I had sub-par benchmark results in Geekbench Metal and OpenCL. Ultimately what fixed for me was injecting some properties into my DeviceProperties section of config list. I have a 5700XT and after I added this list to my injection, my score went from low 40'000s to

 

https://browser.geekbench.com/v5/compute/1316406.  (OpenCL)

https://browser.geekbench.com/v5/compute/1316421. (Metal)

 

This list applies to 5700XT and PciRoot(0x1)/Pci(0x1C,0x3)/Pci(0x0,0x0) is my GPU PCIE id from Hackintool/IORegistry so you need to find the right injection for your VEGA 64. I found out my VBIOS version and added the ID's for pure cosmetics, but I believe the other properties is what helps. I have heard that this affects real-world benchmarks much less. I did not do any rendering tests, but I do feel the graphics is now more fluid.

 

I also change my smbios to MacPro7,1 as I found slightly superior performance in CPU and GPU.

 

You need to 1st read some of

 

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/amd-radeon-performance-enhanced-ssdt.296555/

 

They describe 2 methods - SSDT and sometime later the device property injection. The thread is a big mess though so you won't find a clean tutorial.

 

For the property injection I got tips from this thread but they only apply to 5700XT.

 

https://forum.amd-osx.com/index.php?threads/guide-opencl-metal-performance-increase-on-5700xt.387/

 

You can find lots of Vega 64 info on tonymacx86. But it's a big mess. Do no use kexts - try to find how to inject your PCI into device properties. And finally, it'd be nice to try and check if this translates to real world app gains or just fooling benchmarks. You also need to be careful about temperature and fan control. The 5700XT behaves nicely, but I read some people had issues with Vega 64's.

 

 

⚠️ DO NOT USE BELOW ''as is" - given just as reference to 5700XT owners - amend according to your PCI ID and version.

 

<key>DeviceProperties</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Add</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x1)/Pci(0x1C,0x1)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>built-in</key>
                <data>AQ==</data>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x1)/Pci(0x1F,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>compatible</key>
                <string>pci8086,2916</string>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>FikA</data>
                <key>name</key>
                <string>pci8086,2916</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x1)/Pci(0x1C,0x3)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>@0,name</key>
                <string>ATY,Adder</string>
                <key>@1,name</key>
                <string>ATY,Adder</string>
                <key>@2,name</key>
                <string>ATY,Adder</string>
                <key>@3,name</key>
                <string>ATY,Adder</string>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Slot-1</string>
                <key>AAPL00,DualLink</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>ATY,Card#</key>
                <string>102-D32200-00</string>
                <key>ATY,Copyright</key>
                <string>Copyright AMD Inc. All Rights Reserved. 2005-2019</string>
                <key>ATY,DeviceName</key>
                <string>RX5700XT</string>
                <key>ATY,EFIVersion</key>
                <string>017.001.000.042.012566</string>
                <key>ATY,FamilyName</key>
                <string>Radeon</string>
                <key>ATY,Rom#</key>
                <string>113-D1820501-101</string>
                <key>CAIL_EnableLBPWSupport</key>
                <integer>0</integer>
                <key>CAIL_EnableMaxPlayloadSizeSync</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_CAA</key>
                <integer>0</integer>
                <key>CFG_FB_LIMIT</key>
                <integer>0</integer>
                <key>CFG_FORCE_MAX_DPS</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_GEN_FLAGS</key>
                <integer>0</integer>
                <key>CFG_NO_MST</key>
                <integer>0</integer>
                <key>CFG_NVV</key>
                <integer>2</integer>
                <key>CFG_PAA</key>
                <integer>0</integer>
                <key>CFG_PULSE_INT</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_TPS1S</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_TRANS_WSRV</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_UFL_CHK</key>
                <integer>0</integer>
                <key>CFG_UFL_STP</key>
                <integer>0</integer>
                <key>CFG_USE_AGDC</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_USE_CP2</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_USE_CPSTATUS</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_USE_DPT</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_USE_FBC</key>
                <integer>0</integer>
                <key>CFG_USE_FBWRKLP</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_USE_FEDS</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_USE_LPT</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_USE_PSR</key>
                <integer>0</integer>
                <key>CFG_USE_SCANOUT</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_USE_SRRB</key>
                <integer>0</integer>
                <key>CFG_USE_STUTTER</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>CFG_USE_TCON</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>PP_DisableDIDT</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>PP_DisablePowerContainment</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>PP_DisableVoltageIsland</key>
                <integer>0</integer>
                <key>PP_FuzzyFanControl</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>ATY,AdderParent</string>
                <key>hda-gfx</key>
                <string>onboard-1</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Radeon RX 5700 XT</string>
                <key>name</key>
                <string>ATY_GPU</string>
            </dict>

        </dict>
        <key>Delete</key>
        <dict/>
    </dict>
 

 

 

 

 

I need to add to the above that in Big Sur Beta4, the drivers seem to have been natively improved and the bench performance and smoothness is where it should be without any Whatevergreen or DeviceProperty injections. I also confirmed that Whatevegreen is not needed at all in Big Sur as it doesn't even get a chance to load.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

14 hours ago, iGPU said:

 

It's recommended to sign out of iCloud before changing SMBIOS. Then sign back in after the change. You'd want to change serials as it would be a 'different' computer.

I did exactly that. Thanks! MacPro7,1 shows marginally better scores for what is worth on synthetic benchmarks. I wanted to do this to investigate GPU sub-par scores but ultimately I think a different hack unlocked the synthetic benchmark secret without compromising stability in 10.15.6 - which kexts like RadeonBoost do for my card (kernel panics in 10.15.5 and above).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

@iGPU - I did exactly as you mentioned - and it's still not showing currently.

 

Hackintool

Spoiler

 

0111 Disabl

Broadcom Inc. and subsidiaries

BCM4360 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter

Network controller  

/pci14e4,43a0@0

pci14e4,43a0

PciRoot(0x1)/Pci(0x1C,0x2)/Pci(0x0,0x0) 

 

 

Kexts

Spoiler

 

<dict>

<key>BundlePath</key>

<string>AirportBrcmFixup.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AirPortBrcmNIC_Injector.kext</string>

<key>Comment</key>

<string>AiportBrcm</string>

<key>Enabled</key>

<true/>

<key>MaxKernel</key>

<string></string>

<key>MinKernel</key>

<string></string>

<key>PlistPath</key>

<string>Contents/Info.plist</string>

</dict>

<dict>

<key>BundlePath</key>

<string>AirportBrcmFixup.kext</string>

<key>Comment</key>

<string>AiportBrcm</string>

<key>Enabled</key>

<true/>

<key>ExecutablePath</key>

<string>Contents/MacOS/AirportBrcmFixup</string>

<key>MaxKernel</key>

<string></string>

<key>MinKernel</key>

<string></string>

<key>PlistPath</key>

<string>Contents/Info.plist</string>

</dict>

<dict>

<key>BundlePath</key>

<string>BrcmBluetoothInjector.kext</string>

<key>Comment</key>

<string>BrcmBluetoothInjector</string>

<key>Enabled</key>

<true/>

<key>MaxKernel</key>

<string></string>

<key>MinKernel</key>

<string></string>

<key>PlistPath</key>

<string>Contents/Info.plist</string>

</dict>

<dict>

<key>BundlePath</key>

<string>BrcmFirmwareData.kext</string>

<key>Comment</key>

<string>BrcmFirmwareData</string>

<key>Enabled</key>

<true/>

<key>ExecutablePath</key>

<string>Contents/MacOS/BrcmFirmwareData</string>

<key>MaxKernel</key>

<string></string>

<key>MinKernel</key>

<string></string>

<key>PlistPath</key>

<string>Contents/Info.plist</string>

</dict>

<dict>

<key>BundlePath</key>

<string>BrcmPatchRAM3.kext</string>

<key>Comment</key>

<string>BrcmPatchRAM3</string>

<key>Enabled</key>

<true/>

<key>ExecutablePath</key>

<string>Contents/MacOS/BrcmPatchRAM3</string>

<key>MaxKernel</key>

<string></string>

<key>MinKernel</key>

<string></string>

<key>PlistPath</key>

<string>Contents/Info.plist</string>

</dict>

 

 

Device Properties

 

Spoiler

 

<key>PciRoot(0x1)/Pci(0x1C,0x2)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>

<dict>

<key>built-in</key>

<data>

AA==

</data>

<key>compatible</key>

<string>pci14e4,43ba</string>

<key>device-id</key>

<data>

ukMAAA==

</data>

<key>device_type</key>

<string>Network controller</string>

<key>model</key>

<string>BCM4352 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter</string>

<key>name</key>

<string>Broadcom BCM4352 BT / Wifi Adapter</string>

</dict>

 

 

Results

Spoiler


image.png.ceb256bfab5bd63139b6b7e001959bcc.png

image.png.160a3d781db02db96d0a667a966d5fd5.png

image.png.10f21801b57f14705b157b9901a672d8.png

 

 

 

@meina222 - That's awesome - going to try it out! I have VegaFE kexts and ACPI info that I've pulled and collected since they're pretty rare, and there's a specific RadeonBoost.kext that still has the Vegas supported (I believe newer versions aren't supported). Do you find that the kext itself makes a significant difference?

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The Radeon boost is not playing well with Mac OS Catalina since version 10.15.5 for Navi - causing instability and kernel panics. If you use device properties you should be able to get the boost without any kexts. I don’t use any other than WEG and Lilu. WEG might not be needed just like in Big Sur but I include it since some Navi cards require a boot argument to bypass a black screen on boot issue. With device property injection even WEG may not be needed. Not sure if Vega requires different values.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators

@tsongz,

 

You BT/Wifi card seems a bit wonky. As I mentioned earlier, can you test it in another Hackintosh to prove that it works? If it doesn't work then you can be a new card rather than spend more time trouble-shooting.

 

***

 

I have many set-ups for SSDT/kext/DevProp for Vega 56, 64, 5700 and Rad VIIs. If you want I can post them. I worked them up for users on the X570 build.

 

If you have an air-cooled Vega 56/64 you want to stay away from the RadeonBoost kext as it will spin up the fans. The SSDTs or DevProp are better for those.

 

Let me know what exactly you want and I'll post it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Supervisor

I would avoid to use any kext to improve gpu performance.

 

test GPU with real application like davinci resolve or adobe media encoder if you are not interested only to improve geek bench results😂

by the way

In my rigs imacpro stays the best smbios I used from x99 system To trx40

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

@iGPU - I don't have a second hackintosh yet, though I will likely rebuild my Xeon e5-2680v2 here soon, so I can test it on that. I was planning on plugging it into my real 2010 Mac Pro (mojave) to see if it's recognized. It currently uses another Broadcom chipset, so I think that should validate it. 

 

Have a question on CPU Flags running cpu as host for nested virtualization. Currently I'm trying to get Docker up and running on Big Sur b4. I've tested every method, including Docker for Desktop (Mac), docker-machine (cli + virtualbox), and all have crashed. I think it's likely due to Docker not seeing some intel specific flags on macos, as AMD uses different virtualization names. (smx, ept). 

 

One thing I haven't tried yet is unloading the VBoxHfs.efi from my EFI Driver, as I only use purely an NVME passthrough now, which could be the reason it's causing VirtualBox to crash, but I was wondering if anyone's played around with the flags yet to get nested virtualization working on host cpu

 

sysctl -a | grep machdep.cpu on Hackintosh

 

Spoiler

machdep.cpu.max_basic: 16
machdep.cpu.max_ext: 2147483679
machdep.cpu.vendor: GenuineIntel
machdep.cpu.brand_string: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3970X 32-Core Processor 
machdep.cpu.family: 6
machdep.cpu.model: 85
machdep.cpu.extmodel: 5
machdep.cpu.extfamily: 0
machdep.cpu.stepping: 4
machdep.cpu.feature_bits: 17868086510453783551
machdep.cpu.leaf7_feature_bits: 563872171 4194308
machdep.cpu.leaf7_feature_bits_edx: 2818572288
machdep.cpu.extfeature_bits: 36033157187766528
machdep.cpu.signature: 329300
machdep.cpu.brand: 0
machdep.cpu.features: FPU VME DE PSE TSC MSR PAE MCE CX8 APIC SEP MTRR PGE MCA CMOV PAT PSE36 CLFSH MMX FXSR SSE SSE2 HTT SSE3 PCLMULQDQ SSSE3 FMA CX16 SSE4.1 SSE4.2 x2APIC MOVBE POPCNT AES VMM XSAVE TSCTMR AVX1.0 RDRAND F16C
machdep.cpu.leaf7_features: RDWRFSGS TSC_THREAD_OFFSET BMI1 AVX2 SMEP BMI2 RDSEED ADX SMAP CLFSOPT CLWB SHA UMIP RDPID STIBP ACAPMSR SSBD
machdep.cpu.extfeatures: SYSCALL XD 1GBPAGE EM64T LAHF LZCNT PREFETCHW RDTSCP TSCI

 

Proxmox CPU Flags

 

Spoiler

-cpu host,+invtsc,+hypervisor,+pcid,+ssse3,+sse4.2,+popcnt,+avx,+avx2,+aes,+fma,+fma4,+bmi1,+bmi2,+xsave,+xsaveopt,check,vendor=GenuineIntel

 

sysctl -a | grep machdep.cpu on i5 iMac, which can run Docker
 

Spoiler

 

machdep.cpu.max_basic: 13

machdep.cpu.max_ext: 2147483656

machdep.cpu.vendor: GenuineIntel

machdep.cpu.brand_string: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4690 CPU @ 3.50GHz

machdep.cpu.family: 6 machdep.cpu.model: 60

machdep.cpu.extmodel: 3

machdep.cpu.extfamily: 0

machdep.cpu.stepping: 3

machdep.cpu.feature_bits: 9221960262849657855

machdep.cpu.leaf7_feature_bits: 10155 0

machdep.cpu.leaf7_feature_bits_edx: 2617246720

machdep.cpu.extfeature_bits: 142473169152

machdep.cpu.signature: 198339

machdep.cpu.brand: 0

machdep.cpu.features: FPU VME DE PSE TSC MSR PAE MCE CX8 APIC SEP MTRR PGE MCA CMOV PAT PSE36 CLFSH DS ACPI MMX FXSR SSE SSE2 SS HTT TM PBE SSE3 PCLMULQDQ DTES64 MON DSCPL VMX SMX EST TM2 SSSE3 FMA CX16 TPR PDCM SSE4.1 SSE4.2 x2APIC MOVBE POPCNT AES PCID XSAVE OSXSAVE SEGLIM64 TSCTMR AVX1.0 RDRAND F16C

machdep.cpu.leaf7_features: RDWRFSGS TSC_THREAD_OFFSET BMI1 AVX2 SMEP BMI2 ERMS INVPCID FPU_CSDS MDCLEAR IBRS STIBP L1DF SSBD

machdep.cpu.extfeatures: SYSCALL XD 1GBPAGE EM64T LAHF LZCNT RDTSCP TSCI

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
5 hours ago, tsongz said:

@iGPU - I don't have a second hackintosh yet, though I will likely rebuild my Xeon e5-2680v2 here soon, so I can test it on that. I was planning on plugging it into my real 2010 Mac Pro (mojave) to see if it's recognized. It currently uses another Broadcom chipset, so I think that should validate it. 

 

Have a question on CPU Flags running cpu as host for nested virtualization. Currently I'm trying to get Docker up and running on Big Sur b4. I've tested every method, including Docker for Desktop (Mac), docker-machine (cli + virtualbox), and all have crashed. I think it's likely due to Docker not seeing some intel specific flags on macos, as AMD uses different virtualization names. (smx, ept). 

 

One thing I haven't tried yet is unloading the VBoxHfs.efi from my EFI Driver, as I only use purely an NVME passthrough now, which could be the reason it's causing VirtualBox to crash, but I was wondering if anyone's played around with the flags yet to get nested virtualization working on host cpu

 

sysctl -a | grep machdep.cpu on Hackintosh

 

  Reveal hidden contents

machdep.cpu.max_basic: 16
machdep.cpu.max_ext: 2147483679
machdep.cpu.vendor: GenuineIntel
machdep.cpu.brand_string: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3970X 32-Core Processor 
machdep.cpu.family: 6
machdep.cpu.model: 85
machdep.cpu.extmodel: 5
machdep.cpu.extfamily: 0
machdep.cpu.stepping: 4
machdep.cpu.feature_bits: 17868086510453783551
machdep.cpu.leaf7_feature_bits: 563872171 4194308
machdep.cpu.leaf7_feature_bits_edx: 2818572288
machdep.cpu.extfeature_bits: 36033157187766528
machdep.cpu.signature: 329300
machdep.cpu.brand: 0
machdep.cpu.features: FPU VME DE PSE TSC MSR PAE MCE CX8 APIC SEP MTRR PGE MCA CMOV PAT PSE36 CLFSH MMX FXSR SSE SSE2 HTT SSE3 PCLMULQDQ SSSE3 FMA CX16 SSE4.1 SSE4.2 x2APIC MOVBE POPCNT AES VMM XSAVE TSCTMR AVX1.0 RDRAND F16C
machdep.cpu.leaf7_features: RDWRFSGS TSC_THREAD_OFFSET BMI1 AVX2 SMEP BMI2 RDSEED ADX SMAP CLFSOPT CLWB SHA UMIP RDPID STIBP ACAPMSR SSBD
machdep.cpu.extfeatures: SYSCALL XD 1GBPAGE EM64T LAHF LZCNT PREFETCHW RDTSCP TSCI

 

Proxmox CPU Flags

 

  Reveal hidden contents

-cpu host,+invtsc,+hypervisor,+pcid,+ssse3,+sse4.2,+popcnt,+avx,+avx2,+aes,+fma,+fma4,+bmi1,+bmi2,+xsave,+xsaveopt,check,vendor=GenuineIntel

 

sysctl -a | grep machdep.cpu on i5 iMac, which can run Docker
 

  Reveal hidden contents

 

machdep.cpu.max_basic: 13

machdep.cpu.max_ext: 2147483656

machdep.cpu.vendor: GenuineIntel

machdep.cpu.brand_string: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4690 CPU @ 3.50GHz

machdep.cpu.family: 6 machdep.cpu.model: 60

machdep.cpu.extmodel: 3

machdep.cpu.extfamily: 0

machdep.cpu.stepping: 3

machdep.cpu.feature_bits: 9221960262849657855

machdep.cpu.leaf7_feature_bits: 10155 0

machdep.cpu.leaf7_feature_bits_edx: 2617246720

machdep.cpu.extfeature_bits: 142473169152

machdep.cpu.signature: 198339

machdep.cpu.brand: 0

machdep.cpu.features: FPU VME DE PSE TSC MSR PAE MCE CX8 APIC SEP MTRR PGE MCA CMOV PAT PSE36 CLFSH DS ACPI MMX FXSR SSE SSE2 SS HTT TM PBE SSE3 PCLMULQDQ DTES64 MON DSCPL VMX SMX EST TM2 SSSE3 FMA CX16 TPR PDCM SSE4.1 SSE4.2 x2APIC MOVBE POPCNT AES PCID XSAVE OSXSAVE SEGLIM64 TSCTMR AVX1.0 RDRAND F16C

machdep.cpu.leaf7_features: RDWRFSGS TSC_THREAD_OFFSET BMI1 AVX2 SMEP BMI2 ERMS INVPCID FPU_CSDS MDCLEAR IBRS STIBP L1DF SSBD

machdep.cpu.extfeatures: SYSCALL XD 1GBPAGE EM64T LAHF LZCNT RDTSCP TSCI

 

 

 

My boot argument not so complicated, but I don't know if it will help your Docker problem:

Spoiler

args: -device isa-applesmc,osk="our...Inc"  -smbios type=2 -cpu host,vendor=GenuineIntel,+invtsc

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Supervisor

@iGPUcould you post a screenshot of about my Mac memory section?

i would like to see how 32gb modules are seen in your rig

i have bought four modules but there I see 8 slot full populated with 16 gb modules each

also other users with 32gb modules type if possible

thank you

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • There are no registered users currently online
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.